Accelerating Learning In Literacy

Accelerating Learning in Literacy (ALL)

There are two intakes of ALL per year. 

Most schools have 1 place allocated by the Ministry for 2 attendees.  However some schools have 2 places allocated where they may have 4 attendees.

Year 1 schools have 4 days - evaluation day followed by 2 planning days then impact and refocus day.

Year 2 and 3 schools have 3 days - evaluation and self review days, followed by impact and refocus day.


Year 1 

Workshop 1

For the principal and literacy leader

Evaluation and Self-Review. Review of strengths and needs, student achievement data, selection of teachers and student, overview of expectations and system supports.

 

Workshop 2 & 3

For the principal, literacy leader/intervention teacher or the ALL teacher

Planning . Planning the intervention, focusing on identifying key levers for improved literacy teaching and learning.

Preparing for the 15-week intervention. Teachers provide supplementary support for a small group of  students who are below or well below the standard in reading or writing. The teachers are supported by the SIT and mentor to inquire into their practice.

 

Workshop 4

For the principal or literacy leader and ALL teacher 

Impact and Refocus. Review, reflection, reporting and forward planning. 


Year 2 & 3
  
Workshop 1

Year 2 and 3 schools - for literacy leader and ALL teacher

Evaluation and Self-Review. Review of strengths and needs, student achievement data, selection of teachers and student, overview of expectations and system supports.

 

Workshop 2

For the literacy lead and the ALL teacher

Planning. Planning the intervention, focusing on identifying key levers for improved literacy teaching and learning.

Preparing for the 15-week intervention. Teachers provide supplementary support for a small group of  students who are below or well below the standard in reading or writing. The teachers are supported by the SIT and mentor to inquire into their practice.

 

Workshop 3

For the literacy leader and ALL teacher 

Impact and Refocus. Review, reflection, reporting and forward planning. 

 

ALL Events

For the events per term and online registration sites:

Term 1 

Term 2

Term 3

Term 4

 

Contact 

Programme -  Regional Coordinators for Literacy Interventions:

Regional Coordinator - ALL South Island, Canterbury, Marlborough, West Coast & Nelson

Years 2 & 3  - Scott Wolfe - UC Education Plus - scott.wolfe@canterbury.ac.nz

Years 1 - Adie Bonisch - UC Education Plus - adie.bonisch@canterbury.ac.nz

 

Regional Coordinator - ALL Otago, Southland

Years 2 & 3 - Jenny Harrex - University of Otago - jenny.harrex@otago.ac.nz

                                                                 

Regional Coordinator - ALL Waikato,  Gisborne, Hawkes Bay, Tauranga

Kath Jones - University of Waikato - kajones@waikato.ac.nz

Sandy Harrop - University of Waikato - sharrop@waikato.ac.nz

 

Regional Coordinator - ALL Auckland, Tai Tokerau

Jenny Thompson - Auckland Uniservices - jenny.thompson@auckland.ac.nz

Leytia Leota - Vision Education - leytia.leota@xtra.co.nz

 

Regional Coordinator - ALL Wellington, Wairapapa, Manawatu/Whanganui, Taranaki

Julie Beattie - Auckland Uniservices - julie.beattie@auckland.ac.nz

Cath Runga - Auckland Uniservices - c.runga@auckland.ac.nz

 

Programme -  National Coordinators for Literacy Interventions:

Chris Henderson - Chris.henderson@canterbury.ac.nz

Gaylene Price - Gaylene.price@canterbury.ac.nz


MOE event manager and administration:

Conference Innovators - moe@conference.co.nz 

 

Registration entitlement

  • Registration is by invitation only.
  • Schools have been assigned meeting dates based on Cohort intake and Ministry designated geographical areas.  
  • Principals and teachers will be sent electronic invitations to register when designated registration sites are available. 
  • Please register by the deadline provided.
  • Travel and accommodation costs (if applicable) are for participating school staff only.
  • Please read the Guidelines for Attendees ( Inclusions / Exclusions) click here